Home » I cinquantatré giorni by Georges Perec
I cinquantatré giorni Georges Perec

I cinquantatré giorni

Georges Perec

Published
ISBN : 9788817670623
Hardcover
269 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

Georges Perec, the celebrated author of Life: A Users Manual (Godine, 1987) and A Void, was working on this literary thriller at the time of his death. He had fully completed only eleven chapters of a planned twenty-eight, but left extensiveMoreGeorges Perec, the celebrated author of Life: A Users Manual (Godine, 1987) and A Void, was working on this literary thriller at the time of his death. He had fully completed only eleven chapters of a planned twenty-eight, but left extensive drafts and notes supplying the rest of the mystery, as well as numerous twists and subplots. From these notes, his friends and fellow novelists Harry Mathews and Jacques Roubaud have assembled the elements of the unfinished mystery, along the way providing the reader with a fascinating view into the authors mind as he constructed his literary conundrum.Absorbing, allusive, and joyously playful, 53 Days is the ultimate detective story. The narrator, a teacher in a tropical French colony, is trying to track down the famous crime-writer Robert Serval, who has mysteriously disappeared. Serval has left behind the manuscript of his last, unfinished novel, which may contain clues to his fate. From this beginning, Perec lures the reader into a labyrinth of mirror-stories whose solutions can only be glimpsed before they in turn recede around the corner.In the tradition of Agatha Christies And Then There Were None, Perecs 53 Days is a supremely satisfying, engrossing, and truly original mystery. Like his previous work, it is also a kaleidoscope of ingenious juxtapositions (Le Monde) from one of the centurys most inventive and important writers. As Harry Mathews has commented, If death had not prevented Georges Perec from completing this book, we would today be reading a masterpiece, one in the mold of Nabokovs Pale Fire.